Who plays the girl in elf?

Today, Zooey Deschanel is best known as her lovably quirky character on Fox's New Girl. But long before she was Jess Day, the actress played the love interest of Will Ferrell's title character in the holiday classic Elf, which hit theaters 10 years ago, on Nov. 7, 2003.