Do you cover a prime rib when you cook it?

No. When the roast is done cooking, it needs to rest. Take it out of the oven and place aluminum foil loosely over the meat to hold in the heat. While the meat is resting, make your gravy or prepare Yorkshire puddings.

---

Don't cover a roast, as this will prevent a flavorful crust from forming. Roasts are large, so the inside will remain tender without adding a cover. Use a foil tent only after removing the roast from oven, at an internal temperature of 120°F & tent for 20min to finalize cooking & increase tenderness