What is a himalayan salt lamp?

A Himalayan salt lamp is created from pink salt from near the Himalayan mountain range (although many fake ones are sold online or in stores). They are hollowed out, lit from the inside bottom with a bulb and omit a pinkish, amber-colored glow.