What kind of dinosaur is yoshi?

Yoshi is not representative of any specific species of dinosaur, as he walks on two legs, drives a go cart, and has a small shell on his back. However, being bipeadal he would likely fall into the therapod dinosaur clad, which included T Rex, Oviraptors, and velociraptors along with modern birds.