Where do opals come from?

Opals form when silica gel seeps into crevices in rocks, bones or shells. Opals can be found in many places, including Brazil, Mexico, and the United States. However, Australia is the largest producer of opals. Often mined in open-pit mines, finding and extracting opals can be quite labor-intensive.