What's the order of silverware on a table?

Table settings vary significantly depending upon the number of courses in the meal and the food that will be served. Some general guidelines are: 1. Utensils are placed in the order of use, from the outside in. 2. Forks go to the left of the plate, and knives and spoons go to the right.