What is the tamarisk tree?

They are evergreen or deciduous shrubs or trees that grow 1–18 m in height and form dense thickets. Tamarisks are characterized by slender branches and grey-green foliage. The bark of young branches is smooth and reddish brown. As the plants age, the bark becomes bluish-purple, ridged and furrowed.