What is the origin of the name spencer?

A name of British origin, It is a shortened form of the word dispenser, meaning steward or administrator, and originally came from the Latin wordr dispensatorem, meaning something dispersed, administered, and distributed. The name started as a surname but gradually came to be used as a given name.