Why do dogs lick excessively?

Licking can be a sign of nausea in some dogs. Dogs can have behavioral causes of excessive licking, such as anxiety or a type of obsessive disorder where they over-groom themselves. Studies have shown that the act of licking increases endorphins in the brain which calms the dog while it is licking.