Is butternut squash a grain?

No. Butternut squash is a popular, versatile winter squash with a sweet, nutty flavor and bright orange color. In many ways, it's the quintessential winter squash, and can be used in savory dishes such as soups, stews, casseroles, and curries, as well as sweet ones such as pies, cakes, and muffins.