What country invented cotton candy?

Cotton candy was invented in the US, in 1897, by dentist William Morrison, and candy maker, John C. Wharton. They called their creation “Fairy Floss”, and introduced it to the general public at the 1904 St. Louis World’s Fair. The rest, is history.