How long can cheese stay out?

According to Sarah Hill, Manager of Cheese Education and Training for the Wisconsin Milk Marketing Board, cheese can be left at room temperature for up to two hours, as can all perishable foods. However, leftover unrefrigerated cheese should be handled differently, depending on the type.