What temperature should chicken cook to?

The safe minimum internal temperature for cooked chicken and poultry is 165 degrees Fahrenheit (75 degrees Celsius).

---

The safe internal temperature for cooked chicken is 165° Fahrenheit (75° Celsius). A meat or instant-read thermometer is your best bet for determining the temperature of your chicken, and if you're cooking a whole bird, it should be inserted into the thickest part of the thigh but not touching bone.