What's the pomodoro effect?

The pomodoro effect is the increase in productivity that occurs when tasks are focused on for defined periods of time, such as 25 minutes, followed by breaks, such as of 5 minutes. Every 4 cycles, a longer break is taken. The cycle is repeated until the job is done.