What is the x. rating?

Motion pictures are rated differently in different countries and the ratings have changed over time. In the US, From 1968 to 1990 the X rating was used for films intended for adult-only audiences. In 1990, the M P AA replaced the X rating with NC-17. Some movies were re-edited or became unrated.