What is a mung bean?

The mung bean is a a small round green bean in the legume family. The mung bean is mainly cultivated in East Asia, Southeast Asia and Indian subcontinent. It is used as an ingredient in both savory and sweet dishes. It is commonly grown as a source of bean sprouts.