What's the difference between fried chicken and chicken fried chicken?

regular fried chicken is simply chicken that is lightly battered and then fried. The term “chicken-fried” implies that the chicken is breaded and then pan-fried, which is the case with chicken-fried chicken. It's usually topped with a special white sauce.