Did teddy roosevelt watch duke ellington play baseball?

In his memoir, The Duke Ellington Reader, Ellington recalled a moment from childhood: "There were many open lots around Washington then, and we used to play baseball at an old tennis court on 16th Street. President Teddy Roosevelt would come by on his horse sometimes, and stop and watch us play. "