How many cups are in one half pound?

Cups and pounds are two different kinds of measurements: cups refer to volume, pound to weight. In the imperial system, a pound equals sixteen ounces in weight, so a half-pound would be eight ounces and a cup also is eight ounces in volume. However, a cup of rocks weighs more than a cup of feathers.