What is the difference between a butter bean and a lima bean?

Lima beans are more than just related to butter beans, they are the same thing! In the South and in the UK, lima beans are often called butter beans. Lima beans can be consumed in both their immature stage (fresh and green) as well as their mature (dried and beige).