Why don't woodpeckers get concussions?

Woodpeckers have a unique physiology which prevents brain damage from their rapid and powerful pecking. This includes a small and smooth brain, cerebrospinal fluid to limit the brain's movement within the skull, and an elongated hyoid bone which wraps around the brain case to act like a safety belt.