How much water does a watermelon need?

Watermelon plants require plentiful regular, even watering for quick growing. Give watermelons 1 to 2 inches of water every week (1 inch equals 16 gallons/60.5 liters.) Keep the soil moist until the fruit reaches full size then stop watering while the fruit ripens.