Why do hummingbirds fight?

Hummingbirds fight to defend their food supply and the food supply of their offspring.

---

Hummingbirds are very territorial birds and often fight with one another to defend prime food sources, breeding rites, and nesting sites. They have also been known to fight with other species of animals over prime feeding locations such as at hummingbird feeders.