How many people survived the destruction of pompeii?

1,500 to 2,000 people died in Pompeii during the 79 AD eruption; most scholars believe that the city had between 6,000 to 20,000 people; therefore most Pompeians survived the pyroclastic clouds by heeding the early signs of the eruption, they escaped by foot, probably heading south.