Do frogs breathe through their skin?

Although frogs have lungs, they perform much of their respiration through their skin, bypassing their lungs completely. Their moist skin is specially designed with tiny blood vessels near the surface to help diffuse oxygen in and carbon dioxide out, even when the frogs are hibernating or underwater.