Why did the police raid the stonewall inn?

In 1969 the solicitation of homosexual relations was illegal in New York City. Gay bars were where members of the LGBTQ community took refuge but were often subject to police harassment, including the Stonewall. They raided the bar that day because it was supposedly operating with no liquor license.