Does cat food expire?

Canned cat food, like other canned foods, lasts almost forever if the can is not opened or damaged. Dry food, if unopened will last at least a year. Once dry food is opened, however, it begins to oxidize. Wet cat food that has been opened should be refrigerated and kept no more than four days.