When was the first luau?

The first luau was held in 1819, and it was a symbol of major changes in Hawaiian traditions. It was filled with delicious foods each symbolizing a characteristic of the human spirit such as strength or virtue. Vegetables, meats, fruits, and poi provided the sustenance for this important event.