What was prometheus gift?

Legend has it that it was Prometheus, one of the Titans* in Greek mythology, who gave fire as a gift to Mankind; he was punished severely by the gods for giving humanity a precious and useful tool. If one thing about this legend is true, it is the fact that fire is truly a gift.