What's the difference between al groton and scalloped potatoes?

Scalloped potatoes consist of thinly sliced potatoes layered in a casserole dish and baked with heavy cream or milk (or a combination of the two). The cream is often infused with an aromatic, such as garlic or fresh herbs. Potatoes au gratin has grated cheese sprinkled between the layers.