What's the difference between a doctor and a p. h. d.?

The title “doctor” applies, technically, to anyone who has earned any doctoral degree. ... A Ph. D., or doctor of philosophy, degree is one of a number of type of doctoral degrees; the difference between it and other doctorates concerns primarily the focus and methods of study.