Where did grapefruit get its name?

Grapefruit was originally known as shaddock until the nineteenth century when people started calling it grapefruit because it grows as clusters that look much like bunches of giant grapes.

---

The grapefruit was known as the shaddock or shattuck until the nineteenth century. Its current name alludes to clusters of the fruit on the tree, which often appear similar to that of grapes.