What is garlic classified as?

Botanically, garlic (Allium sativum) is considered a vegetable. It belongs to the onion family, alongside shallots, leeks, and chives (2). Strictly speaking, a vegetable is any edible part of an herbaceous plant, such as the roots, leaves, stems, and bulbs.