What's the difference between cured meat and uncured meat?

Uncured meats uses natural curing agents like celery powder, which transforms into nitrite when it is processed, sports labels with: “No Nitrates or Nitrites added except those naturally in celery powder or juice”. Cure meats have artificial nitrites and other additives that could be cancer causing.