How many horses run in the kentucky derby?

Each year 20 horses have the chance to run in the Kentucky Derby. To earn a spot they must travel along the Road to the Kentucky Derby, a series of designated races at tracks across the country and around the world. Points are awarded to the top four finishers in each race.