When was the percolator invented?

There are conflicts on who invented the first percolator. Hanson Goodrich obtained a patent in the U.S. for a pot in 1889. Earlier in 1819, a percolator incorporating rising boiling water through a tube to form a continuous cycle was invented by French tinsmith Joseph-Henry-Marie Laurens.