What years are considered the dark ages?

476 AD – 1492. Migration period, also called Dark Ages or Early Middle Ages, was a period of western European history—specifically, the time when there was no Roman (or Holy Roman) emperor in the West or, more generally, was marked by frequent warfare and a virtual disappearance of urban life.