How do you know when a sweet potato is done?

depends how it's cooked. if you're boiling them then a pound should boil for 20 -25 minutes or until tender and easily stuck with a fork. If you're roasting them it depends on the temp and the size of the sweet tater you cut, roast for 15 minutes and check if you can easily stick it with a fork