What is the washington state animal?

Washington has several state animals. The state endemic mammal is the Olympic marmot. The state marine mammal is the orca. The state bird is the steelhead trout. The state insect is the green darner dragonfly. The state amphibian is the Pacific chorus frog. And the state oyster is Ostrea lurida.

---

In 2009, the Olympic marmot, the only endemic mammal in Washington state, was designated as the state endemic mammal, following a proposal from the 4th and 5th graders at Wedgwood School in Seattle.