How many monkeys are there in the u. s.?

Since this article was published, the United States Department of Agriculture has twice modified the number of monkeys used in U.S. research in 2017. The latest figure from the agency is 74,498 monkeys used in 2017, which confirms that 2017 was a record year for monkey use