What is integral?

In calculus, an integral is a mathematical object that can be interpreted as an area or a generalization of area.

---

in simple terms In calculus, an integral is a mathematical object that can be interpreted as an area or a generalization of area. Integrals, together with derivatives, are the fundamental objects of calculus. Other words for integral include antiderivative and primitive.