What does s.t.a.l.k.e.r. mean?

S.T.A.L.K.E.R is an acronym used in the video game Shadow of Chernobyl and subsequent releases. Supposedly, it stands for "Scavengers, Trespassers, Adventurers, Loners, Killers, Explorers, and Robbers". The truth of this is contested and there is no official meaning for every letter of the acronym.