Where did the term willy nilly come from?

The early meaning of the word ‘nill’ was the opposite of ‘will’, as in ‘wanting to do something’. In other words, ‘nill’ meant, wanting to avoid doing something. So, combining the two words I am willing, I am unwilling expresses the idea that it doesn’t matter to me one way or the other!