How do you build a rollercoaster in minecraft?

In minecraft, roller coasters can be built using rails and powered rails. A powered rail requires a redstone signal, such as a redstone torch, next to it to function. When powered, it will speed up minecarts that pass over it, allowing them to travel uphill.