How long does it take a human to digest a meal?

It depends on the size and content of the meal. Sugary junk food is digested in a matter of hours. Fruits and vegetables are processed in about a day. Meat and fish can take as long as two days to fully digest. On average, food passes from the body after 33 hours for men and 47 hours for women.