Who named the earth earth?

The answer is, no one knows. The name Earth is derived from both English and German words, 'ertha' and 'erde', respectively, which mean ground. But, the handle's creator is unknown. An interesting fact about its name: Earth is the only planet that wasn't named after a Greek or Roman god or goddess.