What is the first emoji?

The first emoji was probably the smiley face from the 1970s, but The earliest known mobile phone in Japan to include a set of emoji was released by J-Phone on November 1, 1997. The set of 90 emoji included many that would later be added to the Unicode Standard.

---

The first emoji were created in 1999 by Japanese artist Shigetaka Kurita. Kurita worked on the development team for “i-mode,” an early mobile internet platform from Japan's main mobile carrier, DOCOMO. The first emoji was a smiley.