Why don't you refrigerate tomatoes?

There is no reason not to refrigerate tomatoes, the long held myth of refrigeration killing their flavor-producing enzymes and ruining their texture by causing cells to rupture has long since been debunked. Refrigerating tomatoes will extend their shelf life by up to 5 days