Why do indian people have dots on their foreheads?

The forehead dot worn by many Indian women and girls is called a "bindi". It has several possible spiritual and social meanings. One of its main purposes is to serve as a spiritual reminder to the wearer, a sort of ongoing prayer throughout the day.