How long can snail sleep for?

Snails have bizarre sleeping habits. They can sleep for hours at a time or up to three years.

---

In a study at the University of Toronto, snails did not follow a 24-hour cycle. Instead, they exhibited approximately seven bouts of sleeping over a 13 to 15 hour period followed by 30 hours of activity. In addition, some species of land snails can remain in a state of hibernation for up to 3 years.